The Lord’s Supper Pattern Book: Imagining Harriet Powers’ Lost Bible Story Quilt

Get The Best Deal
$6.00 as at 14:48 UTC. (Details)

Thousands of museum visitors have viewed the Bible-themed quilts stitched by Harriet Powers (1837 – 1910) at the Smithsonian Institution National Museum of American History and the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston.

In 1882, Mrs. Powers completed her “Lord’s Supper Quilt,” a piece seemingly lost to history. What became of this quilt? Is it in a family’s private possession? Quilter Kyra E. Hicks has imagined what Bible stories Mrs. Powers might have told through fabrics to create the “Lord’s Supper Quilt.” Included here are 12 blocks featuring stories from both the Old and New Testaments:

  1. The Lord’s Supper
  2. The Creation
  3. Adam and Eve and the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil
  4. Sarah and Abraham Visited by Three Angles
  5. Moses and the Ten Commandments
  6. John Baptizing Jesus – God is Well Pleased
  7. The Devil Tries to Tempt Jesus
  8. Jesus Gives Thanks and Feeds More Than 5,000
  9. The Road to Jerusalem
  10. Jesus’ Triumphant Entry
  11. The Crucifixion
  12. The Accession

This pattern can be enlarged to make either a wall hanging or bed quilt.

  • Used Book in Good Condition